Home About India 7 Union Territories Of India With Their Capitals

7 Union Territories Of India With Their Capitals

7 Union Territories Of India With Their Capitals

In this Article, we are going to discuss 7 Union Territories Of India With Their Capitals. It is important to understand that A Union Territories is a Governmental Division in the Republic of India. Unlike states, which have governed by their own governments, Union Territories are governed directly by central government/Union Government. And because Union Territories directly ruled by union government this is why it is named as “Union Territories“.

In 1949 when Indian Constitution is adopted there was only Union territory named Andaman and Nicobar. After some time some more Union Territories are formed named as- Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep, Delhi, Puducherry (Pondicherry).

Delhi and Puducherry ruled somewhat different from other five. Because Delhi and Chandigarh have their own particular chose legislative assemblies and the official councils of ministers with somewhat state-like capacity.

7 Union Territories Of India With Their Capitals

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands – Port Blair
  • Chandigarh – Chandigarh
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli – Silvassa
  • Daman and Diu – Daman
  • Lakshadweep – Kavaratti
  • Delhi – National Capital Territory – Delhi
  • Puducherry (Pondicherry) – Pondicherry

In these days everyone and mostly students search the list of Union Territories of India, Union Territories Name and Union Territories Of India And Their Capitals. So we are here with List Of All Indian Union Territories with their capitals.

In 1991, the Constitution vide the 69th amendment made courses of action to make Delhi an exceptional Union Territory. Delhi would know as the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT).

Check the map of Union Territory listed below:

7 Union Territories Of India With Their Capitals

Check the table listed below which has details 7 Union Territories Of India With Their Capitals and their Chief Minister / Lieutenant Governors & Administrators:

Union Territories Capital Chief Minister / Lieutenant Governors & Administrators (2018) Official Languages
Andaman and Nicobar
Port Blair A.K. Singh
(Lt. Governor)
Chandigarh Chandigarh H Solanki (Administrator) Punjabi
Dadar and Nagar
Silvassa Ashish Kundra
Daman and
Daman Ashish Kundra
Marathi, and
Delhi Delhi Arvind Kejriwal
(Chief Minister)
Hindi, Punjabi, and Urdu
Lakshadweep Kavaratti Vijay Kumar
Puducherry Pondicherry N. Rangasamy (Chief Minister) Tamil,

I hope you liked this article, And if you liked this article then please leave us a comment below. We take your comment as feedback, which will help us to improve more on topic 7 Union Territories Of India With Their Capitals And don’t forget to share it with your friends and family. If you have any doubt or you wanna ask a question just comment I’m here to help you.

ChecK also:- 29 States of India and Their Capitals Names


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here